NOVEMBER 2018 | Volume 17, Issue 9

CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER
John R. Taggart
jrtag@CLOmedia.com

PRESIDENT
Kevin A. Simpson
ksimpson@CLOmedia.com

Vice President, GROUP PUBLISHER
Clifford Capone
ccapone@CLOmedia.com

VICE PRESIDENT, EDITOR IN CHIEF
Mike Prokopeak
mikep@CLOmedia.com

Editorial Director
Rick Bell
rbell@CLOmedia.com

Managing Editor
Ashley St. John
astjohn@CLOmedia.com

ASSISTANT MANAGING EDITOR
Christopher Magnus
cmagnus@CLOmedia.com

ASSOCIATE EDITORS
Andie Burjek
aburjek@CLOmedia.com

Ave Rio
ario@CLOmedia.com

editorial art director
Theresa Stoodley
tstoodley@CLOmedia.com

Video and Multimedia Producer
Andrew Kennedy Lewis
alewis@CLOmedia.com

Editorial Associates
David Chasanov
dchasanov@CLOmedia.com

Brooke Pawling
bpawling@CLOmedia.com

Vice President, RESEARCH & Advisory Services
Sarah Kimmel
skimmel@CLOmedia.com

RESEARCH MANAGER
Tim Harnett
tharnett@CLOmedia.com

Data Scientist
Grey Litaker
glitaker@CLOmedia.com

Media & Production Manager
Ashley Flora
aflora@CLOmedia.com

VICE PRESIDENT, EVENTS
Trey Smith
tsmith@CLOmedia.com

Events Content Editor
Malaz Elsheikh
melsheikh@CLOmedia.com

Webcast Manager
Alec O’Dell
aodell@CLOmedia.com

Events Graphic Designer
Tonya Harris
lharris@CLOmedia.com

Business Manager
Vince Czarnowski
vince@CLOmedia.com

Marketing Director
Greg Miller
gmiller@CLOmedia.com

Marketing Specialist
Kristen Britt
kbritt@CLOmedia.com

Regional Sales ManagerS
Derek Graham
dgraham@CLOmedia.com

Robert Stevens
rstevens@CLOmedia.com

Daniella Weinberg
dweinberg@CLOmedia.com

Director, Business Development 
Kevin Fields
kfields@CLOmedia.com

Audience Development Director
Cindy Cardinal
ccardinal@CLOmedia.com

Digital & Audience Insights Manager
Lauren Lynch
llynch@CLOmedia.com

Digital Coordinator
Steven Diemand
sdiemand@CLOmedia.com

Audience Insights Coordinator
Micaela Martinez
mmartinez@CLOmedia.com

LIST MANAGER
Mike Rovello
hcmlistrentals@infogroup.com

Business Administration Manager
Melanie Lee
mlee@CLOmedia.com

CONTRIBUTING WRITERS
Amy Liu Abel
Ken Blanchard
Agatha Bordonaro
Tamar Elkeles
Sarah Fister Gale
Julie Winkle Giulioni
Elliott Masie
Lee Maxey
Bob Mosher
Stephanie Neal
Jay Tangney

CHIEF LEARNING OFFICER EDITORIAL ADVISORY BOARD

Cedric Coco, EVP, Chief People Officer, Brookdale Senior Living Inc.
Lisa Doyle, Head of Retail Training, Ace Hardware
Dave DeFilippo, Chief People and Learning Officer, Suffolk
Tamar Elkeles, Chief Talent Executive, Atlantic Bridge Capital
Thomas Evans, (Ret.) Chief Learning Officer, PricewaterhouseCoopers
Gerry Hudson-Martin, Director, Corporate Learning Strategies, Business Architects
Kimo Kippen, President, Aloha Learning Advisors
Rob Lauber, Vice President, Chief Learning Officer, McDonald’s Corp.
Maj. Gen. Erwin F. Lessel, (Ret.) U.S. Air Force, Director, Deloitte Consulting
Justin Lombardo, (Ret.) Chief Learning Officer, Baptist Health
Adri Maisonet-Morales, Vice President, Enterprise Learning and Development, Blue Cross Blue Shield of North Carolina
Alan Malinchak, CEO, Éclat Transitions LLC
Lee Maxey, CEO, MindMax
Bob Mosher, Senior Partner and Chief Learning Evangelist, APPLY Synergies
Rebecca Ray, Executive Vice President, The Conference Board
Allison Rossett, (Ret.) Professor of Educational Technology, San Diego State University
Diana Thomas, CEO and Founder, Winning Results
David Vance, Executive Director, Center for Talent Reporting
Kevin D. Wilde, Executive Leadership Fellow, Carlson School of Management, University of Minnesota
James P. Woolsey, President, Defense Aquisition University

Chief Learning Officer (ISSN 1935-8148) is published monthly, except bi-monthly in January/February and July/August by MediaTec Publishing Inc., 150 N. Michigan Ave., Suite 550, Chicago IL 60601.  Periodicals postage paid at Chicago, IL and additional mailing offices. POSTMASTER: Send address changes to Chief Learning Officer, P.O. Box 8712 Lowell, MA 01853. Subscriptions are free to qualified professionals within the US and Canada. Digital free subscriptions are available worldwide. Nonqualified paid subscriptions are available at the subscription price of $199 for 10 issues.  All countries outside the US and Canada must be prepaid in US funds with an additional $33 postage surcharge.  Single price copy is $29.99.

Chief Learning Officer and CLOmedia.com are the trademarks of MediaTec Publishing Inc. Copyright © 2018, MediaTec Publishing Inc. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Reproduction of material published in Chief Learning Officer is forbidden without permission.

Printed by: Quad/Graphics, Sussex, WI