September 2019 | Volume 18, Issue 7

PRESIDENT
Kevin A. Simpson
ksimpson@CLOmedia.com

Vice President, GROUP PUBLISHER
Clifford Capone
ccapone@CLOmedia.com

VICE PRESIDENT, EDITOR IN CHIEF
Mike Prokopeak
mikep@CLOmedia.com

Editorial Director
Rick Bell
rbell@CLOmedia.com

Managing Editor
Ashley St. John
astjohn@CLOmedia.com

ASSISTANT MANAGING EDITOR
Christopher Magnus
cmagnus@CLOmedia.com

ASSOCIATE EDITORs
Andie Burjek
aburjek@CLOmedia.com

Elizabeth Loutfi
eloutfi@CLOmedia.com

editorial art director
Theresa Stoodley
tstoodley@CLOmedia.com

Video and Multimedia Producer
Andrew Kennedy Lewis
alewis@CLOmedia.com

Editorial Associates
Kerry Snider
ksnider@CLOmedia.com

Francesca Mathewes
fmathewes@CLOmedia.com

Vice President, RESEARCH & Advisory Services
Sarah Kimmel
skimmel@CLOmedia.com

RESEARCH MANAGER
Tim Harnett
tharnett@CLOmedia.com

Data Scientist
Grey Litaker
glitaker@CLOmedia.com

Media & Production Manager
Ashley Flora
aflora@CLOmedia.com

VP OF BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT FOR EVENTS
Kevin Fields
kfields@CLOmedia.com

Events Manager
Malaz Elsheikh
melsheikh@CLOmedia.com

Webcast Manager
Alec O’Dell
aodell@CLOmedia.com

Events Graphic Designer
Latonya Hampton
lhampton@CLOmedia.com

Business Manager
Vince Czarnowski
vince@CLOmedia.com

Marketing Director
Greg Miller
gmiller@CLOmedia.com

Marketing Specialist
Kristen Britt
kbritt@CLOmedia.com

Regional Sales ManagerS
Daniella Weinberg
dweinberg@CLOmedia.com

TECHNICAL OPERATIONS MANAGER 
Skyler Gold
sgold@workforce.com

Digital & Audience Insights Director
Lauren Wilbur
lwilbur@CLOmedia.com

Digital Coordinator
Steven Diemand
sdiemand@CLOmedia.com

Audience Insights Coordinator
Micaela Martinez
mmartinez@CLOmedia.com

LIST MANAGER
Mike Rovello
hcmlistrentals@infogroup.com

Business Administration Manager
Melanie Lee
mlee@CLOmedia.com

CONTRIBUTING WRITERS
John Baldoni
Bonnie Beresford
Videhi Bhamidi
Ken Blanchard
Sarah Fister Gale
Nivedita Kuruvilla
Elliott Masie
Lee Maxey
Bob Mosher
Christyl Murray
Damodar Padhi
Kasper Spiro

CHIEF LEARNING OFFICER EDITORIAL ADVISORY BOARD

Lisa Doyle, Vice President, Global Learning, Booz Allen Hamilton
David DeFilippo, Principal, DeFilippo Leadership Inc.
Tamar Elkeles, Chief Talent Executive, Atlantic Bridge Capital
Gerry Hudson-Martin, Director, Corporate Learning Strategies, Business Architects
Kimo Kippen, President, Aloha Learning Advisors
Rob Lauber, Vice President, Chief Learning Officer, McDonald’s Corp.
Maj. Gen. Erwin F. Lessel, (Ret.) U.S. Air Force, Director, Deloitte Consulting
Justin Lombardo, (Ret.) Chief Learning Officer, Baptist Health
Adri Maisonet-Morales, Vice President, Enterprise Learning and Development, Blue Cross Blue Shield of North Carolina
Alan Malinchak, CEO, Éclat Transitions LLC
Lee Maxey, CEO, MindMax
Bob Mosher, Senior Partner and Chief Learning Evangelist, APPLY Synergies
Rebecca Ray, Executive Vice President, The Conference Board
Allison Rossett, (Ret.) Professor of Educational Technology, San Diego State University
Brenda Sugrue, Global Chief Learning Officer, EY
Diana Thomas, CEO and Founder, Winning Results
David Vance, Executive Director, Center for Talent Reporting
Judy Whitcomb, Senior Vice President of Human Resources, Learning and Organizational Development, Vi
Kevin D. Wilde, Executive Leadership Fellow, Carlson School of Management, University of Minnesota
James P. Woolsey, President, Defense Aquisition University
Chief Learning Officer (ISSN 1935-8148) is published monthly, except bi-monthly in January/February and July/August by Human Capital Media, 150 N. Michigan Ave., Suite 550, Chicago IL 60601.  Periodicals postage paid at Chicago, IL and additional mailing offices. POSTMASTER: Send address changes to Chief Learning Officer, P.O. Box 8712 Lowell, MA 01853. Subscriptions are free to qualified professionals within the US and Canada. Digital free subscriptions are available worldwide. Nonqualified paid subscriptions are available at the subscription price of $199 for 10 issues.  All countries outside the US and Canada must be prepaid in US funds with an additional $33 postage surcharge.  Single price copy is $29.99.

Chief Learning Officer, ChiefLearningOfficer.com and CLOmedia.com are the trademarks of Human Capital Media. Copyright © 2019, Human Capital Media. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Reproduction of material published in Chief Learning Officer is forbidden without permission.

Printed by: Quad/Graphics, Sussex, WI